Yahoo! to start sharing your updates. Requires opt-out to protect your privacy.

In a bid to throw their hat into the social networking ring, Yahoo! announced a plan to try to leverage its Yahoo! Mail users’ contacts into a social network of friends who will receive your Yahoo! Updates.

As with many people, I use Yahoo! just for email and messenger. I have no desire to add yet another social network to the vast list already available. In a bid to throw their hat into the social networking ring, Yahoo! announced a plan to try to leverage its Yahoo! Mail users’ contacts into a social network of friends who will receive your Yahoo! Updates.

There are two major problems with Yahoo! plan.

  1. People can start following you just by knowing your Yahoo! email address and you will not know it. There is no confirmation required.
  2. Users are required to opt-out. The default mode is to share your updates. If you want to protect your privacy, you are required to update your privacy controls. To opt-out, go to Manage My Updates. First check the individual items to set your preference. If you want no updates, set them all to ‘no one’. Then uncheck ‘Share My Updates’ at the top. I recommend setting each individually in addition to unchecking the global setting just in case you inadvertently check that in the future.

Read more: Opt-Out Required to Prevent Your Yahoo! Mail Contacts From Being Used for Social Network