Facebook rolling out https secure browsing site wide and testing instant photo upload for iOS 6 users

Facebook users may see two new features rolling out in the near future. One adds much needed security while the other may potentially be a threat to your privacy.

Facebook users may see two new features rolling out in the near future. One adds much needed security while the other may potentially be a threat to your privacy.

298px-Internet2HTTPS secure browsing

HTTPS browsing has been an opt in feature for Facebook users since early 2011 when Firesheep was released into the wild and it only worked on some parts of the site. Soon, North American Facebook users will have HTTPS browsing turned on as a default with the option to turn it off for those who want to see a slight performance boost. With HTTPS browsing enabled, the traffic is encrypted on the client prior to transmission over Wi-Fi thus preventing someone snooping on the Wi-Fi signal from seeing the data. It’s standard for all financial sites and has been standard on Gmail for years. Facebook faced many technical challenges in implementing this technology for it’s nearly 1 billion users but they managed to adjust their load balancing techniques to allow secure browsing with minimal performance degradation.

Facebook PhotosyncPhotosync being tested for iOS 6 users

Facebook is also testing Photosync for some selected users. Photo syncing lets you save the photos on your phone to Facebook privately, then choose which ones to share. This feature is already present for Google + (Google Instant Uploads), Android Facebook users, and Apple Cloud service users. Dropbox and other services also offer a similar feature. If available on your Facebook account, it can be disabled to save mobile data bandwidth and protect privacy. Despite the photos going into a private album, some users may not want all their photos uploaded. There’s also the issue of someone other than the phone owner taking pictures with a phone enabled for this feature but is not aware the images are being uploaded.

Photosync FAQ

How does photo syncing work?

When you turn on photo syncing, your mobile photos will be saved to a private section of your Facebook Photos. You can easily share your synced photos on your timeline from desktop, mobile, or another device.

How do I start syncing my photos?

You can preview photo syncing by first making sure you have the latest version of the Facebook app installed on your phone. If you have an iPhone, you’ll need to be using iOS 6.

From the app:

  • Go to your photos app in the left side navigation
  • Tap Photos
  • Tap Sync at the bottom of your photos section. Follow the step-by-step instructions.

From your computer:

  • Go to your timeline
  • Click Photos
  • Click Synced From Phone at the top of your photos section. Follow the step-by-step instructions.

The Synced From Phone section can hold up to 2GB of images.

Who can see the photos I’ve synced from my phone?

Only you can see the photos you’ve synced from your phone. Your photos are saved privately in a section of your Facebook Photos that only you can see. When you view your synced photos, you can choose shots to share or send in a private message.

Where can I find my synced photos?

Your photos are saved privately in a section of your Facebook Photos that only you can see. From there, you can choose shots to share or send in a private message.

On your phone:

  • Go to the photos app in the left side navigation
  • Tap Photos
  • Tap Synced at the bottom of your photos page

On your computer:

  • Go to your timeline
  • Click Photos
  • Click Synced From Phone at the top of your photos page

How do I share synced photos?

You can choose photos to post or send in a private message.

From your computer:

  • Click the checkmark on the photos you’d like to share. You can click and drag your mouse over a group of photos to choose a bunch at once.
  • Choose Create Post to share photos on your timeline or Send in Message to share photos in a private message.

How do I delete a photo that was synced from my phone?

From the mobile Facebook app:

  • Go to the photos app in the left side navigation
  • Tap Synced at the bottom
  • Tap the photo you’d like to remove
  • Tap Remove synced photo

From your computer:

  • Go to your timeline
  • Click Photos
  • Click Synced From Phone at the top of the page
  • Click the photo you would like to delete
  • Click Delete in the bottom left

When you visit the Synced view on your phone, you may temporarily see the photos you deleted.

Note: Deleting a photo from your synced photos won’t delete it from your phone’s gallery.

How often are photos synced?

We generally try to sync your photos as soon as you take them. However, we also take into account a number of factors, such as your battery level and sync settings. New photos that you take will be privately synced as you take them. In your syncing settings, you can choose to sync over Wi-Fi and your cellular network, sync or over Wi-Fi only, or turn syncing off entirely. You can also choose to sync all photos in your camera roll over wifi and see how much storage space you have available.

How does photo syncing work with my data plan?

When you’re on a cellular network like 3G or 4G, we’ll sync photos at a smaller size (around 100K each), so they’re unlikely to use much of your data plan. Please keep in mind that uploading over a cellular network will use your data plan and may cost you money.

Over a Wi-Fi connection, we’ll sync larger versions of your photos. This won’t use any your data plan.

In your syncing settings, you can choose to sync over Wi-Fi and your cellular network, or over Wi-Fi only, or turn syncing off entirely.

Photos will not sync when your battery is low.

How do I change my settings for photo syncing?

You can adjust your settings for photo syncing from your phone.

Android

  1. Open the Facebook app and tap the top-left main menu
  2. Scroll to the bottom and select Account > App Settings > Sync Photos
  3. Choose to turn syncing on or off or to sync over Wi-Fi only. You can also choose to sync all photos in your camera roll over wifi and see how much storage space you have available.

iPhone or iPad

  1. Open the Facebook app and tap the top-left main menu
  2. Tap the Photos app
  3. At the bottom, tap Sync Photos
  4. Tap the gear icon . From there, choose to turn syncing on or off or to sync over Wi-Fi only. You can also choose to sync all photos in your camera roll over wifi and see how much storage space you have available.

How do I turn photo syncing off?

You can turn photo syncing off from your phone.

Android

  1. Open the Facebook app and tap the top-left main menu
  2. Scroll to the bottom and select Account > App Settings > Sync Photos
  3. Choose Don’t sync my photos

iPhone or iPad

  1. Open the Facebook app and tap the top-left main menu
  2. Tap the Photos app
  3. At the bottom, tap Sync Photos
  4. Tap the gear icon and choose Don’t sync my photos

This feature isn’t available right now for feature phones.